Two young students working together on a laptop

What’s a faculty?

A Faculty is a division within a university, based on a subject area or on a group of related disciplines. At uOttawa, there are 10 faculties, of which the Faculty of Social Sciences is the largest.

What’s a Dean?

The Dean is the person who leads an entire Faculty.

What are the Social Sciences?

Our Faculty (FSS) is made up of 9 different academic units:

  • Department of Criminology;
  • Department of Economics;
  • Graduate School of Public and International Affairs;
  • Institute of Feminist and Gender Studies;
  • School of International Development and Global Studies;
  • School of Political Studies;
  • School of Psychology;
  • School of Social Work;
  • School of Sociological and Anthropological Studies.

What can the social sciences teach me?

The social sciences teach you how to make sense of people, systems and societies. From examining human cognition to investigating socio-economic policies, to working with the very people impacted by systems, programs and decisions, locally or globally, we teach you the fundamentals of scientific inquiry and of social analysis.

Our programs are designed to help you learn to think more creatively and critically about the world you live in. That means you’ll be better equipped to make the changes you want to see out there while enjoying more job market opportunities upon graduating!

What’s the difference between a "bachelor" and an "honours bachelor"?

Good question! There are two types of bachelor’s degrees to choose from:

An Honours Bachelor is:

  • an undergraduate degree requiring the equivalent of four years of studies;
  • required for admission to graduate studies;
  • recognized by all Canadian provinces and by institutions abroad.

A Bachelor is:

  • an undergraduate degree requiring the equivalent of three years of studies;
  • a degree that offers a basic university education in at least two social sciences disciplines;
  • a three-year degree that can lead to graduate studies in some Canadian provinces.
Back to top