Ukraine Summer School

Borders in the Post-Socialist Space: Past, Present, Future

Sponsored by the Danyliw Foundation

The Embassy of France in Ukraine inaugurated in 2009 the Annual International Social Science School in Ukraine. For an intensive week in early July, an international group of twenty doctoral students and up to a dozen faculties are converging to a different town in Ukraine to hear and discuss presentations on ongoing research on a critical theme.

The Summer School is designed to be interdisciplinary and international and follows the format of a Workshop. The program also includes lectures and field trips, of historical and contemporary significance, within the region.

The first five Schools were held in

  • Uman, July 2009 (Studying Memories of Central Europe)
  • Dnipropetrovsk, July 2010 (Approaches to Post-Soviet Transformation)
  • Ostroh, July 2011 (Soviet Legacies, Post-Soviet Practices: Politics, Economy, Everyday Life)

  • Zhytomyr, July 2012 (Violence and Its Aftermath in the Soviet and Post-Soviet Context)

  • Mykolaiv, July 2013 (Challenging the Social Order: Revolution, Reform and Transformation Under and After Socialism)
  • Lviv, July 2014 (Embracing the City)

The 7th Annual School, to be held in Chernivtsi, Western Ukraine, on 3-9 July 2015, will be devoted to the theme “Borders in the Post-Socialist Space: Past, Present, Future”.

In 2010, the Chair of Ukrainian Studies became a co-sponsor of the School, in partnership with the Doctoral School of the University Kyiv-Mohyla Academy and the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales [EHESS] in Paris. The 2014 School, for the first time, was primarily funded by the Danyliw Foundation, a long-term partner of the Chair. The Danyliw Foundation will once again sponsor the 2015 School, in partnership with the French Embassy in Kyïv, French academic institutions and the Yuriy Fedkovych Chernivtsi National University.

The Organizing Committee includes Anna Colin Lebedev (EHESS), Dominique Arel (Chair of Ukrainian Studies), Mayhill Fowler (Stetson College, US), Sophie Lambroschini (EHESS), François-Xavier Nérard (U Paris Sorbonne), Amandine Regamey (U Paris Sorbonne), and Ioulia Shukan (U Paris Ouest Nanterre).

Back to top