We are hiring! Alex Trebek Postdoctoral Fellowship, Water Law and Governance

Posted on Monday, June 15, 2020

The Centre on Governance (Eric Champagne) and the Centre for Environmental Law and Global Sustainability (Heather McLeod-Kilmurray et Nathalie Chalifour), in collaboration with the Public Law Centre, are seeking a post-doctoral fellow for an interdisciplinary research project on water governance. This project is led by our colleague Marie-France Fortin (Faculty of Law) who obtained a major grant of nearly $400,000 from the Alex Trebek Fund of the University of Ottawa. Several of our colleagues at the Centre are involved in this innovative and timely project, including professors:

  • Eric Champagne (multi-level governance and overall project coordination at the COG)
  • Sylvie Paquerot (politics of water, sustainable development, vital resources and human rights)
  • André Lecours (federalism, Canadian politics)
  • Anne Mévellec (urban politics, public policy implementation, local governance)
  • Jennifer Wallner (federalism, comparative provincial politics, intergovernmental relations)


Click here for full details about the application process and the project description.


The main qualifications we are seeking are as follows:

  • A doctorate in law or governance (or expected completion within six months after June 1, 2020) in one of the following areas: public law or public policy, international relations, climate change, water law/governance/politics, international development, environmental law or environmental policy, multi-level governance or federalism, urban development and territory.

Preference will be given to candidates with a PhD awarded within the last five years.

  • Research experience in law, public governance or public policy
  • Excellent computer and technology skills
  • Strong communication skills
  • An ability to work independently
  • Bilingualism (English and French)

The deadline for application is July 30, 2020, and the start of the fellowships is normally planned for September 1, 2020.

Back to top