Graduate Studies

school of political studies written in three different colours such as black, grey and green

Study at the School of Political Studies (Public Administration or Political Science)

The Centre on Governance is associated with the Faculty of Social Sciences and the School of Political Studies. With 48 regular professors and more than 50 other associate or part-time faculty members, the School of Political Studies is one of the largest departments dedicated to political science and public administration in Canada and around the world

Whether you are interested in one of the concentrations offered at the School or one of the multidisciplinary programs in international studies and modern languages or public administration, the School of Political Studies surely has the right one for you whether at the undergraduate or graduate level.

In addition, the University of Ottawa boasts one of the most competitive financial support programs in Canada. Canadian and permanent residents graduate students with an admission average of 8.0 or higher are eligible for a generous admission scholarship. To get an idea of the scholarships you may qualify for, consult the uOttawa Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies "Awards and financial support" page.

If you are interested in pursuing your studies in one of our graduate programs, please consult directly with the Centre's Research Directors:

   Director: Professor André Lecours

  Affiliate professors: Professor Luc Turgeon, Professor Jennifer Wallner, Professor François Rocher, Professor Louis Simard


Master of Arts Public Administration

Master of Arts Political Science

Microprogram in Governance and Public Management

Microprogram in Governance and Public Policy Analysis

Microprogram in Ethics and Politics of Cultural Heritage

Doctorat in Philosphy Public Administration

Doctorate in Philosophy Political Science

Research Excellence Scholarship

Each year, the Centre on Governance offers a number of research excellence scholarships to support student members of the Centre in writing scientific articles and attending academic conferences. The Centre currently offers two scholarships:

Back to top