Meet This Year’s Winners of the IFGS and uOttawa Scholarships

Posted on Thursday, June 30, 2016

Congratulations to Marie-Eveline Belinga, a doctoral student in women’s studies and the recipient of the Murida Graduate Scholarship in Women’s Studies. The Murida scholarship pays tribute to the life and works of two incredible women: Muriel Paquin and Ida Deurloo. This year’s scholarship was awarded to Marie-Eveline for her research at the Institute of Feminist and Gender Studies.

FSS wishes to recognize the achievement of Anna Bogic, a PhD candidate in women’s studies, who has been awarded the Nicole Bégin-Heick University of Ottawa Scholarship. Created by Nicole Bégin-Heick and Hans Heick, this scholarship provides up to one year of financial support to a student in their fifth year of a doctoral program in order to allow them to finish their thesis. Bravo, Anna!

Roya Gharji Hussein, a doctoral student at the institute of Feminist and Gender Studies, is the grateful recipient of the Institute of Women’s Studies Scholarship in International Development and Gender Issues. This scholarship helps to finance students’ thesis research or fieldwork on male-female issues in international development. The Faculty wishes Roya good luck as she furthers her studies.

The Catherine-and-Jean-Pierre-Soublière Scholarship in Women’s Studies was granted to Yvonne James to help her continue her doctorate in women’s studies. This initiative was inspired by Greta Hoffman-Nemiroff, former incumbent of the Joint Chair in Women’s Studies (1991-1996) who challenged other women to ‘carry the flame’ for each other.

Rachelle Binette, a Master’s student in the School of Human Kinetics, is this year’s winner of the Monique Lortie-Lussier Scholarship, for her status as a full-time student in her Master's program and her interest in women’s studies. Congratulations, Rachelle! 

Back to top