The Faculty of Social Sciences comprises nine departments, schools and institutes, which offer undergraduate, masters and doctoral programs in both English and French. With its 10,000 students, 260 full-time professors, and wide array of programs and research centres, the Faculty of Social Sciences plays a key role at the heart of the University of Ottawa. Its graduate students are supervised by excellent researchers and undertake cutting-edge research in the Faculty's masters and Ph.D. programs.


  • Watch the video of the flash mob organized by the Faculty of Social Sciences as part of the uOttawa Fall Open House.

  • Congratulations to Jean-Thomas Bernard, Department of Economcis, for obtaining the Award for Activities in the Media Community and also the Gérard-Parizeau Prize.
  • Congratulations to Denise Spitzer for obtaining a research grant from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) for her project, "Intersections of Gender, Work, and Health: Migrant Beer Sellers in Southeast Asia."

All news >

Contact Information

Faculty of Social Sciences
120 University
Social Sciences Building
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
K1N 6N5

Undergraduate Studies
Room 3010
Tel.: 613-562-5709
Fax: 613-562-5311

Graduate Studies
Room 3021
Tel.: 613-562-5732
Fax: 613-562-5308

Personnel >

Office Hours

Monday to Friday

September to May:
9 a.m. to 12 p.m.
1 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.

June to August:
9 a.m. to 12 p.m.
1 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.